Lab Members

Principle Investigator

M. Thomas Record

Position title: Principal Investigator

Email: mtrecord@wisc.edu

Address:
Steenbock Professor in Chemical Sciences
John D. Ferry Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
B.A., Yale University
Ph.D., University of California-San Diego

Research Staff

Irina Shkel

Position title: Assistant Scientist

Email: ishkel@wisc.edu

Address:
Departments: Biochemistry, Chemistry
Research Description:  Thermodynamics of complex fluids, DNA and protein solutions. Methods of numerical and analytical analysis of experimental data in kinetics and thermodynamics.

Emily Zytkiewicz

Position title: Associate Research Specialist

Email: zytkiewicz@wisc.edu

Address:
Subgroup: Solutes
Research Description: Quantifying chemical interactions of polyols with protein functional groups in order to develop solute probes of biopolymer processes

Graduate Researchers

Max Rector

Position title: Graduate Student

Email: mjrector@wisc.edu

Address:
Program: Integrated Program in Biochemistry (IPiB)
Subgroup: RNA polymerase
Research Description: Using solute probes (urea) to determine points of large structural shifts during initial transcription.  Using FRET/PIFE to DNA wrapping/unwrapping during open complex formation and transcription initiation.

Hao-Che Wang

Position title: Graduate Student

Email: hwang593@wisc.edu

Address:
Program: Biophysics
Subgroup: RNA polymerase
Research Description:  Studying the discriminator effect on the mechanism of transcription initiation

Undergraduate Researchers

Alexa Berens

Position title: Undergraduate

Email: aeberens@wisc.edu

Address:
Major(s): Biology
Subgroup: Solutes
Research Description: Studying the interactions between sugars and amides.

Michael Bonfiglio

Position title: Undergraduate

Email: mabonfiglio@wisc.edu

Address:
Major:
Subgroup: RNA Polymerase
Research Description:

Siwei Qian

Position title: Undergraduate

Email: sqian32@wisc.edu

Address:
Major(s): Biochemistry
Subgroup: RNA Polymerase